2014 class photo—Caps and gowns, smiles from ear to ear, President Barnes challenges graduates to take their ministry to unforeseen places—

commencement 2014 students graphicPrinceton, NJ, June 3, 2014–One hundred fifty-two students were awarded 165 degrees at Princeton Theological Seminary’s 202nd commencement on May 24. Students received their Master of Arts, Master of Arts (Theological Studies), Master of Divinity, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees during the ceremony. Graduates’ friends and family members filled the Princeton University Chapel and joined in the celebration.

In his address, “The Reverend Dr. Theophilus,” President M. Craig Barnes, challenged graduates to move from being disciples to apostles. Barnes ushered them to experience the unpredictable power of the Holy Spirit, which will take their ministry to unforeseen places. 

  Graduates will serve as pastors in churches, as hospital and prison chaplains, and in the mission field. They will teach in urban schools, minister on college campuses, and continue their studies, both in the United States and abroad.                               

Sylvester T. Toe (M.A.) is heading to Trinity Healing Temple Church, a Pentecostal denomination in Liberia, West Africa, where he will serve as a pastor.

Manoj Shrestha (Ph.D.) is training Nepali-speaking pastors and leaders worldwide.

Liz Niehoff (M.Div.) is heading to University of California San Francisco Medical Center for a twelve-month Clinical Pastoral Education residency.

Jessica Winderweedle (M.Div.) is serving as the executive director of the nonprofit The Feed Truck, a food truck specializing in serving handcrafted “farm-to-face” fare.

Kai-Li Chiu (Ph.D.) is heading to Taiwan, where she will join the faculty of Taiwan Theological Seminary.

Awards given during the ceremony included the following:

• The Senior Fellowship in History – Grace Vargas (M.Div.)

• The Gerald R. Johnson Memorial Award in Speech Communication in Ministry – Noah Allen Daniel Buchholz (M.Div.)

• The Robert E. Speer Award in College Ministry – Brenda Maggie Bertrand (M.Div.)

• The Aaron E. Gast Award in Urban Ministry – Pamela Danine Holmes (M.Div.) and David Malcolm McGruder (M.Div.)

• The Edler Garnet Hawkins Memorial Award for Scholastic Excellence – Nyle Eric Joshua Fort (M.Div.)

For additional information, contact the Communication and External Relations Office at 609.497.7760 or visit www.ptsem.edu.

About Princeton Theological Seminary
Princeton Theological Seminary, founded in 1812, is the first seminary established by the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church. Its mission is to educate leaders for the church of Jesus Christ worldwide, and its more than 500 students and 11,000 graduates from all fifty states and many nations around the world serve Christ in churches, school and universities, healthcare institutions, nonprofit agencies, initiatives for social justice, mission agencies, and the emerging ministries of the church in the twenty-first century.