E. Ellwood (Woody) Carey (’54B) was honored as Man of the Year by Outreach, a gay advocacy and justice organization in Madison, Wisconsin. Carey was chosen for his work with HIV/AIDS education in the United States and South Africa, as well as his leadership to the New Harvest Foundation, which awards grants to groups doing justice work for the LGBT community in southern Wisconsin.

In May, Robert Holst (’74D), president of Concordia University-Saint Paul, was honored with The Great Commission Award in recognition of his leadership in the evangelism and mission efforts of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod. The award was presented at a gala on the campus of Concordia University in Irvine, California.

On March 24, 2010, J. Scott Patterson (’74B), pastor of Dover Congregational Church in Westlake, Ohio, delivered the opening invocation at the Ohio House of Representatives.

Brian Blount’s (’81B) commentary on Revelation was selected as the top reference book of 2009 by the Academy of Parish Clergy. The commentary is part of the Westminster John Knox Press’s New Testament Library commentary series.

David Lee Jones (’82B), director of the Doctor of Ministry Program at Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary, received the 2010 Distinguished Leadership in Doctor of Ministry Education Award from the Association for Doctor of Ministry Education (ADME). This is ADME’s highest award and Jones is only its fourth recipient in the organization’s twenty-year history.

Kathleen O’Connor (’84D), the William Marcellus McPheeters Professor of Old Testament at Columbia Theological Seminary in Decatur, Georgia, was honored by the Society of Biblical Literature at its annual meeting in November. She spoke about her vocation as a theological educator serving in a theological seminary. O’Connor’s book Lamentations and the Tears of the World received the Catholic Press Association first prize in scripture in 2003.

Margaret Grun Kibben (’86B, ’02P) has been promoted to Rear Admiral and assigned chaplain of the United States Marine Corps/deputy chief of chaplains/deputy director of religious ministries, Office of the Chief of Naval Operations, in Washington DC. She is the first woman to serve in this role.

Phil Holtan (’91M), pastor of Calvary Lutheran Church in Perham, Minnesota, was given a leadership award by the Perham Leadership Hall of Fame in April for spearheading the “Feed My Starving Children” project in March 2009. The project was the “largest single undertaking in East Otter Trail’s [County] history.” In two days, 435,888 meals were packaged, and were bound for developing countries. More than $73,000 was raised for the “Feed My Starving Children” effort.

Tamara Davis (’10B) has been named a 2010 Verizon Wireless HopeLine(R) Scholar. Funded by a $100,000 grant, the Verizon Wireless HopeLine Scholarship Fund was created in conjunction with the Center on Violence Against Women and Children, to recognize outstanding graduate students enrolled in Rutgers University’s School of Social Work who are specializing in violence against women and children. During her studies at PTS, Davis created two programs to raise awareness of domestic violence and sexual abuse.